Life's Too Short, Play Hooky

Happy Friday,

I am writing to you from the comfort of my bed, with my wife by my side and our dogs on my lap, while our daughter sleeps upstairs (hoping teething doesn’t wake her up like it did a couple of nights ago).

The life of an entrepreneur is challenging, and it is often romanticized on social media, in films, and by those who aspire to be the next Steve Jobs. However, the most rewarding part about working for startups and for myself has been the opportunity to spend more time with my family than I ever imagined possible. I have been fortunate to spend almost every single day of my daughter's nearly nine months on this planet with her, share lunches with my wife, and take midday walks around the block to clear my head. And, as one reader pointed out, when I have family visiting, I can simply take the day off to spend time with them.

That’s all to say, I don’t ever want to take this for granted, and I want to encourage as many of you as possible to make time for your kids, schedule those breakfast dates with your loved ones, and don’t be afraid to play hooky every now and then. Life is too short.

Loving Parenthood? Be sure to share it with your family, friends, and social network and encourage them to join our community!

One Big Idea

kevin malone chilli GIF

It’s Labor Day Weekend, the final weekend of summer. If you’re looking for a few last minute ideas for things to do with your kids, I’ve got you covered:

  • If you’re in Austin, try the Kyle Pie In the Sky Festival. It’s free to get in, runs all weekend, and there is live music, tethered hot air balloon rides and a kids pie eating contest!

  • If you’re in NYC, head down to the Coney Island Wonder Wheel and take in the final fire works show of 2023. Oh, there’s also karaoke so get ready to show your kids your best Freddie Mercury impression

  • If you’re in LA, head up to Malibu for the Malibu Chili Cook Off. There will be a rock wall, skateboarding, and proceeds will benefit the Boys & Girls Club of Malibu

Trending Stories & Insights

  • An introverted mom with an extroverted kid asked if she was a terrible parent for feeling overstimulated and snapping. Others quickly came to her defense and let her know that we’re all human and need time to recharge

  • A US Veteran was reunited with his Chilean birth mother 42 years after he was part of an illegal adoption scheme

  • I’m not crying, you’re crying. A TikToker celebrated a mom’s birthday after she revealed that she had spent it alone

  • After decades raising her children, this mother needs a rest. As her youngest finishes school, she reflects that the children are beautiful - but they are also d***heads

Tip of the Day

Little League baseball is a good thing ’cause it keeps the parents off the streets and the kids out of the house

~ Yogi Berra

Time(out) for Memes