A Dad Goes Off the Grid

Happy Monday,

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I spent the past four days in the western most part of Texas, right alongside the Rio Grande and the border of Mexico. It was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. From picturesque mountain ranges to breathtaking views of the stars, it was absolutely amazing.

One thing about this part of the world, however, is that there is absolutely no cell service or internet anywhere within 50 miles. Now going through a digital detox was great in some ways, but also completely nerve wracking in others. Had I taken this trip a few years ago when I was not yet a dad, I’m sure I would have loved it. But this past weekend, I struggled from time to time with being present because my fam was constantly on my mind.

All this is to say that while I love the idea of taking a trip to a remote location so that I can be extremely present and away from technology, perhaps next time I do so it’ll be with my family.

Trending Stories & Insights

MarketWatch

  • In agreement: Republicans and Democrats rarely agree on anything these days. However, in a recent survey, 84% of respondents from across party lines said “being a parent today is financially harder than ever before”

  • Blanket rule: Most parents have a blanket rule when it comes to screen time - that it’s inherently bad. This children’s media researcher says that “the cultural narrative that cutting back on screen time, just as a blanket rule, is always better for kids is more destructive than helpful”

  • Unfollow: Why decision paralysis has caused this mom is to ditch parenting influencer accounts.

Tip of the Day
  • The most important meal of the day: A pediatric dietician and mother of 3 under 5 shares 13 toddler-friendly breakfast ideas that are not only nutritious but also quick and effortless to prepare

Love Parenthood? Be sure to share it with your family, friends, and social network and encourage them to join our community!

Here’s a dad joke

What did the ocean say to the beach?

Scroll to the bottom of the newsletter for the answer!

Time(out) for Memes

Dad joke answer: Nothing, it just waved